shortcut to content

Liberty Central School District masthead logo

Visit our schoolsto Liberty Elementary home pageto Liberty Middle School home pageto Liberty High School home pageright edge border
shadow box top edge

Academics and Instruction

tabs box bottom border

Core Curriculum

English Language Arts

Language is the most powerful, most readily available tool we have for representing the world to ourselves and ourselves to the world. Language is not only a means of communication; it is a primary instrument of thought, a defining feature of culture, and an unmistakable mark of personal identity.

The English Language Arts curriculum in Liberty Central School District expands upon the learning standards established by the New York State Department of Education. The four standards clearly show the interdependence of the skills of reading, writing, speaking and listening.

Standard 1: Students will read, write, listen, and speak for information and understanding.

Standard 2: Students will read, write, listen, and speak for literary response and expression.

Standard 3: Students will read, write, listen, and speak for critical analysis and evaluation.

Standard 4: Students will read, write, listen, and speak for social interaction.


In March 2005, the Board of Regents adopted a new Learning Standard for Mathematics and issued a revised Mathematics Core Curriculum, resulting in the need for the development and phasing in of three new Regents Examinations in mathematics: Integrated Algebra, Geometry, and Algebra 2/Trigonometry.

These new Regents Examinations in mathematics will replace the Regents Examinations in Mathematics A and Mathematics B. Students must pass any one of these new commencement-level Regents Examinations in order to fulfill the mathematics Regents Examination requirement for graduation. The first administration of the Regents Examination in Integrated Algebra took place in June 2008 and the first administration of the Regents Examination in Geometry took place in June 2009. The first administration of the Regents Examination in Algebra 2/ Trigonometry will take place in June 2010. The Regents Examination in Algebra2/Trigonometry will be based on the content of the Mathematics Core Curriculum (Revised 2005).

Social Studies

The Social Studies Learning Standards are defined as the knowledge, skills, and understandings that individuals habitually demonstrate over time as a consequence of instruction and experience. New York State has five specific content areas for standards:
• History of the United States and New York
• World History
• Geography
• Economics
• Civics, Citizenship, and Government

Taken together, these content standards, their key ideas and the performance indicators, define the Learning Standards for Social Studies for all students.


Visit the New York State Education website, where you will find the resource guides with for the Science Curriculum for: elementary science, intermediate science, living environment, earth science, chemistry and physics.

For links to student resources, visit our "Student Resources" page or click HERE.

tabs box bottom border
blank space graphic
shadow box bottom edge